Paris

Which words could I use to describe this dream city of lights and emotions? I still feel overwhelmed by the taste οf the French salty tart in the wet backstreets of this romantic city. The magical sound allover Disneyland park, the fascinating boating through the canals of the Pirates of the Caribbean and the unforgettable Peter Pan’s flight…

The most gigantic temple that my eyes have ever perceived, which makes you feel really small and humble, the famous Notre Dame. A masterpiece, which immediately makes you think about how many years it took to be constructed. Artists, exhibiting their lovely paintings in the crowdy sidewalks and that permeating frost, which, however, feels so cozy and mild. The incredibly beautiful Sacre of Montmartre, that rises imposingly and calls you to climb up its steps, one by one, until you get rewarded by the panoramic view.

How could I not describe the rich breakfast with the freshly-baked croissants, the huge bowls filled with marmelade and the great variety of tastes and colors to dive in? I definitely could not leave behind the unique Museum of Louvre and its amazing works of arts. The enormous paintings, which depict significant historical moments with incoceivable vividness, revived the cruelty of war in front of my eyes. Mona Lisa was standing at the end of the room, unreachable, because of the crowd that was before me, but still enigmatic and grand. My mind is still conquered by the golden gates and the valuable sculptured royal bedrooms in the Palace of Versailles.

At the perfume museum, in central Paris, I was lost in the journey of senses. Père Lachaise Cemetery looked like a museum of elegant artworks, as its majesty overshadowed the macabre atmosphere. There, I had the opportunity to read famous quotes and aphorisms. And that’s how I made my way to the airport, feeling full and enchanted, one foggy cold morning.

K. D.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑